How do you write?

(i.e. in disciplined chunks of so many words a day or as the story flows.)

It tends to be seasonal – there are times when I focus on writing and try to minimise other work (often I kick this off by going away for a few days). In those times I tend to be pretty disciplined. I don’t have numbers of words to achieve as I think the pressure would stop me enjoying it and being creative, but I do have a sense of what needs to be worked on next and some idea of when I’d like to finish that particular stage of writing. In terms of when it’s a writing season, that has more of a sense of flow. Sometimes it’s time to buckle down to admin or promotion, sometimes I’m focused on a performance project and sometimes it’s time to shut the world out and write. For everything there’s a time!

Leave a Reply

