How do you decide character names?

Good question! Sometimes, as with Mr Bumbler or Grizelda, it’s just because I like the sound of the name and I think it fits the character. Mostly though there’s some meaning behind my characters’ names. As Rise of the Shadow Stealers is a story about stories and story characters, some of the names play with the act of writing and creating narrative – for instance Nib, the Quill Sisters or the Yarnbard. For others, I have an idea of the character’s personality and want to reflect that. Isaiah Scriven, for instance, is someone who sees deeply. He is a keeper and revealer of secrets and so I named him after the Biblical prophet. Sometime the names, such as Melusine, are stolen from traditional myths and legends. (Melusine is a character from European legend who is half serpent or fish and half woman). The thesaurus and baby names websites can be helpful too! One character name came to me out of the blue – I didn’t like it at first, but once I looked up its meaning, I decided to stick with it as it seemed like an appropriate encouragement. I’ll let you decide which name that was!

3 thoughts on “How do you decide character names?

    1. Thanks! Glad you like that one as he’s going to be a bigger character in the next book! Yes it can be tricky, but when you get it right it’s very satisfying. I had to change some names a few drafts in, which was strange as you become attached to them.

Leave a Reply

